

January 17, 2025

Marlene H. Dortch Secretary Federal Communications Commission 45 L Street NE Washington, D.C. 20554

Re: Notice of Ex Parte Communication, MB Docket No. 16-142

Dear Ms. Dortch:

In April 2023, Chairwoman Rosenworcel announced the formation of the Future of Television Initiative, a public-private initiative led by the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) to guide the next steps of the transition to ATSC 3.0. The Future of Television Initiative gathered industry, government<sup>1</sup>, and public interest stakeholders to work on a roadmap for the transition to ATSC 3.0.

NAB moderated monthly working group meetings from June 2023 through July 2024. During the meetings, participants were encouraged to identify issues they believe need to be addressed to ensure a smooth transition to ATSC 3.0. Working Group participants shared their viewpoints on such issues and worked to reach agreement or narrow the scope of disagreement and to make consensus recommendations on next steps where possible.

NAB is proud to submit the attached report, summarizing the discussions and progress made through the Future of Television Initiative. NAB expects that this report will provide the Commission with a better understanding of the remaining issues and concerns of stakeholders and put the Commission in a better position to continue with the rulemaking proceedings necessary to complete a successful transition to ATSC 3.0.

The broadcast industry looks forward to continuing to work with the Commission to advance the transition to ATSC 3.0 and deliver the myriad benefits unleashed by NEXTGEN TV to viewers.

Please direct any inquiries regarding this matter to the undersigned.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Federal Communications Commission staff participated in the Working Groups but did not contribute to the preparation of this report.

Respectfully Submitted,

Rick Kaplan

Chief Legal Officer and Executive Vice President,

Legal and Regulatory Affairs

National Association of Broadcasters

cc: Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel, Commissioner Brendan Carr, Commissioner Geoffrey Starks, Commissioner Nathan Simington, Commissioner Anna Gomez